

Part III: EcoRespira-Amazon. Results into Use

Cornelius Oertel • Gilvan Coimbra Martins • Jörg Matschullat • Karl Heyer • Roberval Monteiro Bezerra de Lima • Sophie von Fromm • Stefan Erasmi • Thomas Drauschke

The EcoRespira-Amazon project was inspired and motivated by well-known deficits in sustainable management of Amazonian forest resources. The project team took an innovative approach, combining the conceptual model 'Código Florestal Amazon' (CF Amazon; ▶ 11) with a new experimental approach in the field (▶ 3, 11). This approach attempts filling data and information gaps that are needed in order to make informed decisions and to deliver recommendations for improved − more sustainable − land use.

In Part III, individual work and related approaches taken (▶ 4) are presented and interpreted based on the obtained results. Since we are still getting more data in, results must be seen as preliminary although there are no major surprises to be expected for the decision-making level. Thus, results may at this point – albeit with some caution – be put to use already. Conclusions based on the integration of the individual work packages are presented in Part IV (▶ 11, 12).

This part delivers the current status of results, starting with soil physics and its implications (\triangleright 5). Thereafter, Soil humidity, conductivity and pH-values are discussed (\triangleright 6), followed by soil chemistry and dynamics (\triangleright 7), soil and ecosystem respiration (\triangleright 8), biomass dynamics (\triangleright 9) and land cover dynamics (\triangleright 10).



The future of the Amazon basin on her mother's shoulders; Young yet inquisitive





Initial EcoRespira-Amazon / CF Amazon workshop at Embrapa Sede near Manaus in February 2016. TOP: Theoretical introduction to the SEMACH-FG system. Bottom: Workshop participant's memory shot; f.l.t.r.: César Leandro Abozaglo Imaña, Marcelo de Oliveira Tels, Celso Paulo de Azevedo, Hudson Dias da Silva, Roberval Monteiro Bezerra de Lima, Alexanda Silvo, Cintia R. Souza, Laura Medeiros Braga, Jörg Matschullat, Kikue Moroya, Bruno Scarazatti, Gilvan Coimbra Martins, Sophie von Fromm, Eduardo Radmann, Adriana Aparecida Barbosa, Alzenilson Santos de Aquino, Ednilson Alves Figueiredo